Your cart
Close Alternative Icon
IN-STORE SHOPPING IS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE. IN-STORE SHOPPING IS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE.
Signed Bookplate - Mango and Peppercorns (Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning , Lyn Nguyen, Elisa Ung)

Signed Bookplate - Mango and Peppercorns (Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning , Lyn Nguyen, Elisa Ung)

$24.95

 

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

• IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
• TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
• INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.